Catholicism, Catholic, Traditional Catholicism, Catholic Church

``Where the Bishop is, there let the multitude of believers be;
even as where Jesus is, there is the Catholic Church'' Ignatius of Antioch, 1st c. A.D

Time After Epiphany Overview


His Childhood Continued, His public ministry




Joyous wonder


Symbols of Christmas until Candlemas;
then: loaves and Fishes, Scallop shell, wine of Cana


14 January to the Vespers of Septuagesima Sunday

The season of Time after Epiphany 1 is season is more a season set up for liturgical reasons than spiritual ones, as it is spiritually a contination of Christmas's devotion to the Divine Childhood. Because the date of Easter changes each year, two seasons have variable lengths in order to balance the calendar. The Season of Time After Pentecost can have as few as 23 Sundays or as many as 28 Sundays depending on the date of Easter. This season can have anywhere from 4 to 38 days, depending on the date of Easter. If this season is short, then Time after Pentecost will be longer; and if this Season is long, Time after Pentecost will be shorter.

But the spiritual focus of the Season up 'til Candlemas is the continuation of Christmas and contemplation of the Divine Childhood. After Candlemas, the celebration of events of His young life gives way to a focus on His adult life.

1 Like Septuagesima and Time after Pentecost, this Season is known as "Ordinary Time" in the new calendar.

Back to Customs of the Liturgical Year
Back to Being Catholic