FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Love verses in the Bible
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi folks!

Newbie here. A niece of mine, getting married soon, asked me for a verse from the bible which relates to love, lovers, fidelity or love-friendship, not those used as traditional 'favorites' in wedding booklets. As I am poorly-educated in scriptures, I would appreciate anyone favoring me with a verse or two?

regards, ignatius ting
There are only a few in the New Testament which reference love between humans, especially romantically, but I think the best verses come from Genesis:
Genesis 2:21-25 Wrote:Then the Lord God cast a deep sleep upon Adam: and when he was fast asleep, he took one of his ribs, and filled up flesh for it.  And the Lord God built the rib which he took from Adam into a woman: and brought her to Adam. And Adam said: This now is bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called woman, because she was taken out of man. Wherefore a man shall leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they shall be two in one flesh. And they were both naked: to wit, Adam and his wife: and were not ashamed.
If you dare, you can try to find something in Canticle Of Canticles but beware, it is may be shocking to those hearing it for the first time :)
http://www.drbo.org/book/24.htm
It annoys me that St Paul's famous passage on love ("Love is... Love is... Love is not... etc") is considered by modern dim-wits to be almost exclusively to be used in marriage ceremonies! I'd say that this passage has very little to do with marriage, whereas the passage from Genesis already quoted or anything from the Canticle of Canticles is much more appropriate. Otherwise, anything with "covenant" in it seems appropriate.