FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Need advice from Fishies: pro-life club
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
There didn't seem to be any appropriate place for this, so I'm just putting it in the busiest forumĀ  ;D.

I've recently become the treasurer of the pro-life club at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, and the financial situation is quite grim. The University's Alma Mater Society won't approve funding for any pro-life groups because it considers clubs which campaign to change Canadian law to be a "subversive influence" (this is not a joke - that's the argument). We've currently got $61.76 in the account (and that's Canadian dollars). Needless to say, our potential activities (e.g. setting up a conference, buying posters) are limited.

I'm wondering if anyone here has any advice on how to raise funds. I'm completely new at it, and I have no idea how I'd get started or who I'd ask. Does anyone have experience with these things?
I'm thinking membership dues to get off the ground.

I'll yield to other (better) arguments, however.
Set up a website with Google Ads and a link for donations.
How about a carwash?
(06-04-2009, 10:07 AM)SoCalLocal Wrote: [ -> ]How about a carwash?

How's the weather in Kingston would be my first question. Out here in Alberta it would be risky to schedule it more than a day or two in advance the way the temperatures have been going up and down.
(06-04-2009, 10:12 AM)jovan66102 Wrote: [ -> ]
(06-04-2009, 10:07 AM)SoCalLocal Wrote: [ -> ]How about a carwash?

How's the weather in Kingston would be my first question. Out here in Alberta it would be risky to schedule it more than a day or two in advance the way the temperatures have been going up and down.