FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Question for Belloc on Distributism
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

I'm no economic expert, and I know hardly anything about distributism except for a few brief overviews here and there.  I have neither the desire nor the time to invest in becoming an expert in the subject, but I do have one question.

It seems that the "think globally, act locally" theory applies.  This is all fine and good, and I do support local businesses and local growers over large supermarkets and stores when I can.  Now to my question - in a distributist economy, how would computer technology ever have been invented and developed?  I can see how it may have been invented at a university lab, but the sheer insane amount of dollars needed to set up an IC fab, clean room, etc, in order to manufacture computers and in general, IC technology, I just don't see how it would have been possible if the economy was entirely distributist.  A local group of workers probably couldn't have pulled it off.  So how, following the distributist model, could it ever have happened?

Makes you wonder if distributism is passively anti-technology.  Maybe it is, and this is fine for people who want to live by the Amish life model. 

If a computer, cell phone, the internet, etc, couldn't have been developed under this system (if it could have please explain how exactly), then I propose that everyone who uses that technology is not a pure distributist, and should either accept the fact that pure distributism is not a workable economy on its own, or they should all unplug and stop using tools and devices created by an economy that they do not support.

The last statement is not specifically directed at you, Belloc.  The question of how computer technology can be developed under such a system, however, is directed at you.  Please explain!

Calicatholic