FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Why do you think philosophy is so unpopular here?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
That's not a loaded question. I'm just interested. If you did some kind of graph showing the popularity of topics on FE you'd probably find current events and social mixing threads up top (fair enough), theology round about the middle and philosophy barely registering. Why is that? People have so much to say about so many other things, but philosophy (which is surely important to the crisis in the Church) is the leper subject of the forum. What gives? Why do so many people not want a bar of it?
I'm interested in it, it's just so, well, heavy.  Where as, you don't have to think so hard to read and comment on the other topics here, I guess.  At least, I don't.  :)
I enjoyed Philosophy when I studied it in college.  But I'm just not that well versed in the topic.
(05-07-2010, 07:21 AM)OCLittleFlower Wrote: [ -> ]I'm interested in it, it's just so, well, heavy.  Where as, you don't have to think so hard to read and comment on the other topics here, I guess.  At least, I don't.  :)

Nah! It's not heavy! Everyone's a philosopher  (çept Benno, of course,) Let's rip into it.

Philo-sophy......from the greek      the love of wisdom
wisdom= the art of finding the RIGHT answer.

Proposition: It's all wrong!

I consider my lack of a proper foundation in philosophy to be the greatest flaw in my education.  I do read what gets posted here, but it is regularly beyond my competence to post. 
I grew up with it....had enough of it then to last a life time of conjecture.  Most philosophers are no good at it any way...so who really cares?  They list the name of types of arguments and declare fallacies when it suits them so they feel educated and superior to their foes..and they usually do this improperly...