FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Adoration for the layperson?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
A local N.O. Catholic Church has a 24-hour Adoration chapel (with the Eucharist exposed in a monstrance).  It's a small room with kneelers - seats 6 people.  I've been participating in this - volunteering for hours for the past 4 years, since my conversion (from fundamentalism).  I had no qualms about this when I was a Novus Ordo Catholic - in fact, this time has been one of the highlights of my week.

But now I've "converted" to Traditional Catholicism (FSSP parish), and am having second thoughts about my participation in this local Adoration chapel.  Laypeople (in our FSSP parish) approach the altar rail to receive the Eucharist, but we do not enter the Sanctuary - we maintain a respectful distance and worship in the nave of the Church.  So, is it appropriate for me to approach the Lord so "intimately" in this prayer chapel?  Is this going beyond the bounds of respect?

As I read the Old Testament, the temple had appropriate areas for Gentiles, women and children, etc.  The Holy of Holies (where the Lord dwelt) was restricted, and the priest entered but once per year - and only after careful preparation.  In our prayer chapel, I get the feeling that I (an ordinary layperson) have entered into the Holy of Holies  -which is not my place.  It just doesn't feel appropriate anymore.

Would appreciate your comments -  Thanks!
Eucharistic adoration is a beautiful practice. What you have been doing the last several years is commendable, and I would encourage you to continue.
Absolutely nothing wrong with what you're doing. There's a very busy church in my city that has adoration all day. The Church is extremely liberal, and I'd avoid attending Mass there, but often visit the church before or after work to spend some time in front of Our Lord.
Tomch,