FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Nursing student has a question for you all!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
A friend of a friend of mine asked if I could make this post for her. She's interested in learning more about tradition but isn't a trad (though she is Catholic), so she's looking for your opinions and advice. She's a nursing student who will be graduating and looking for work soon.

Here's her question:

Quote:  Hello everyone,

I am in my last year of nursing school. I will be graduating with a BSN in nursing and I would love to start my career in a hospital working in maternal/child health. Once I get enough experience, I want to go back to school and become a women's health nurse practitioner or a certified nurse midwife. My dream job would be working in a public health position to improve infant and maternal health outcomes in at risk women and their babies.

Unfortunately, this specialty field is full of moral issues (contraception, abortion, etc.). Plus, almost everyone who works in women's health is a pro-choice liberal feminist. I'm at the complete opposite end of the spectrum: I'm a pro-life conservative who believes in traditional gender roles.

I have already begun looking at job descriptions. Almost all of them include some sort of "family planning" role (basically, counseling on contraceptives as a registered nurse and prescribing contraceptives as a nurse practitioner). Obviously, I would not be able to do this. I believe this would create a lot of tension in the workplace, among many other things.

So basically, do you think it is possible for a Catholic nurse to work in this field without compromising her religious beliefs?

Thoughts? Comments? Do you know any pro-life nurses who work in this field? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.