FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Question about EF
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Okay, so I've been going to the EF for a few years and I follow along with my Latin to English booklet. I do know what's going on in regards to the Priest's role however, I'm still learning about the other details. I recently went to a knew church for the EF and they were singing hymns in English and they did not perform the ordinaries of the mass. Is this consider to be normal? I was quite miserable for basically the entire mass and definitely will not be returning.

Thanks in advance for your replies.
(08-22-2011, 01:27 AM)MorganHiver Wrote: [ -> ]Okay, so I've been going to the EF for a few years and I follow along with my Latin to English booklet. I do know what's going on in regards to the Priest's role however, I'm still learning about the other details. I recently went to a knew church for the EF and they were singing hymns in English and they did not perform the ordinaries of the mass. Is this consider to be normal? I was quite miserable for basically the entire mass and definitely will not be returning.

The ordinaries?  No Canon, no introit, no Kyrie?  Do you know what was missing?  However, at the SSPX parish I attend, English hymns in the mass propers are occasional and ones after and during processional are common.  Sorry if I don't know exactly what you're asking, but if you described what they skipped, I can throw something out there.
I don't know about hymns in English, we do it as the EF I go to now, and I hate it.  Leaving out the ordinaries is certainly not normal.  Though, I have to ask, are you positive they did not do it, or is it possible you missed it?  I have been going to TLM for about 5 years now, and still have plenty to learn, and I get lost in my missal pretty often.