FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Why is GK Chesterton works considered Christian Apologetics?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I am new to Chesterton..

I tried to read some of his works, which is notably christian, Orthodoxy...

I just scanned a few lines and paragraphs, and hardly found that he talks about Jesus, the Catholic Church, etc...

It kind of seems like a general works to me, instead of Catholic Apologetics.

Or maybe I am wrong..

Can somebody explain to me why Chesterton is considered great Catholic writer?

In which line or paragraphs did he talk about Jesus or saving souls?

Thank you kindly
The Chesterton corpus (in many ways) is vast.  Orthodoxy is only distinctly Christian in the most general sense (it was written before his conversion to Catholicism).  Check out his The Everlasting Man and his biographies of Francis and Aquinas for more of the apologetic material.
sky1, I'm just finishing Chesterton's book on Thomas Aquinas right now. He wrote it after converting, and places the Catholic Church in such high regard that it's an essential read. He compares the materialistic Protestants and the mystical Orthodox with "our guys", deciding that Thomas embodies the spirit of Christianity (with his mix of spiritual and material) perfectly, which is what Catholicism does. It's a really grand work...  ;D
I adore Chesterton's The Everlasting Man, which is one of the finest arguments in favor of the Faith produced in the 20th century. The book's purpose is to make the case for the Faith.

But, his approach is his own.

And when I first started looking at his writing I had a mixed sort of reaction. I have a wretched lack of patience in general and Chesterton takes his time getting to his point and also maybe it just wasn't time so I set it aside.