FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Catholic Courtship
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Hey guys, I'm currently a college student who is fairly new to Traditional Catholicism; born-and-raised Catholic, but only even heard about Traditional Catholicism several months ago. Most questions that I have thought I have graciously been able to find answers to on Fish Eaters and on other trad sites (as well as from a few of the people I've met at my nearby diocesan TLM).

Anyway, one thing I have not seen much information on is Catholic dating/courtship. What are the general guidelines? How soon should one be prepared to be married before starting? Since I'm in college at the moment and am likely to be moving elsewhere in a couple years, marriage is kind of out of the question until I have a more stable situation, but I'm fine not beginning to court/date for a little while. Anywho, I just wanted to hear some of y'all's opinions, insights, etc. on this process.
In my opinion, you should not date seriously until you are about a year or so away from being able to support a family.  If you are a junior in college, that is a good time to start seriously looking around.  I wouldn't worry too much about moving.  If you find someone in school and get married shortly after, you should both have a lot of flexibility about where you will be living.
n/m
Be chaste.  You know the guidelines for individual acts.  

If you are known to yourself as a repeat offender in certain situations or you find that certain situations are a source of temptation, don't put yourself at risk.