FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: What were the decades before the Council like?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi all,

I'm new to both here and traditional Catholicism, and I can't search the forums, so I apologize if this is a dead horse.

Because I am new, I don't exactly have a super-rosy view of the Church pre-Vatican II.  This is not to say I have a negative view of the Church either.  It's just neutral.

At my FSSP parish, if many or most parishes were like ours, with a beautiful High Mass on Sunday, great preaching, etc., I don't see a need for a Council, especially one with changes in liturgy. 

That said, I have seen things about quick, careless, mumbled Low Masses all day on Sundays being the norm before the Council.  Does anyone know if that's the case? 

If so, I imagine there was already a lot of rot in catechesis many decades before the Council as well. 

Is that picture close to accurate?  Were there any obvious problems that can honestly be said about the Church at the time?  Weakly devoted lay people, lukewarm faith, and so on?

Finally and a bit tangentially, could the NO and the general state of the Church actually be the "Great Chastisement"?

Thanks for humoring my curiosity on this.
To avoid being sucked into accepting Novus Ordo revisionist history that the Church pre-Vatican II was dead in every possible way, I suggest you hit the books. Start with Michael Davies, in particular the Liturgical Revolution series.
(11-25-2012, 12:30 AM)Tenmaru Wrote: [ -> ]Hi all,

I'm new to both here and traditional Catholicism, and I can't search the forums, so I apologize if this is a dead horse.

Because I am new, I don't exactly have a super-rosy view of the Church pre-Vatican II.  This is not to say I have a negative view of the Church either.  It's just neutral.