FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Laity in El Paso call for Fr. Rodriguez to be bishop
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I just got this email from joe reyes, regarding Fr. Rodriguez and his former parish's faithful in El Paso:

+JMJ+

Greetings my brothers and sisters in Christ,

My name is Jose Reyes. I am a Catholic layman from El Paso, TX who is working to recover and restore our Traditional Catholic Faith. A number of us have gotten together and drafted a letter for our ecclesiastical superiors requesting that a very good and holy priest be elevated to the office of bishop, namely Fr. Michael Rodriguez. You may have read some of his articles, heard his sermons online, or watched him on you tube. We would greatly appreciate your support in this effort. We believe the more signatures we can gather, the more impact it may have for our Catholic hierarchy.

We desperately need faithful bishops who will be true to all of the Catholic Church's teachings - in morals, in doctrine, in liturgy, etc.  We need heroic bishops who are willing to teach Christ's truth in the public sphere, even if necessary to reprimand Catholic politicians. We need bishops like those of old who are willing to sacrifice everything for Christ, even their own blood in martyrdom. We need bishops who, above all, are concerned with the glory of God, the exaltation of Holy Mother Church, and the salvation of souls. We want bishops who will be zealous in all these things, and will teach, govern and sanctify the faithful in charity and truth.

We have known Fr. Rodriguez for many years now and are firmly convinced that if he were consecrated a bishop, he would be this kind of bishop.