FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Writings on courtship
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Howdy, folks. I'm wanting to know of any Catholic moral manuals on the topic of courtship. More specifically, what has been the Church's general consensus on the appropriate length of courtship? I had always assumed that courtship spanning over several years (2-4) was a practice that was supported and perhaps encouraged by the Church, but I do not have any specific literature to support this. Any help appreciated!

My wife got our son Father Lasance's "Young Man's Guide."  Cheers!
I always thought the traditional church frowned upon long engagements. My husband and I went out on a couple of dates then decided to marry. Our wedding was 7 months later.  I would be interested to hear if there is church teaching on this.
I have no direct experience with this topic but nonetheless I would recommend the following website.  The link below has several links on it that came up by searching the word 'courtship'.  To avoid the links that take you to something for sale in their store, just ignore the links that start with 'store'. 

http://www.google.com/cse?cx=00004708702...gsc.page=1
You got yourself a ladyfriend, Joshua?
My understanding is also that the Church discourages too much time before marriage.  How much time depends, I would think, on how long you have known the person.  Two childhood friends might not need as long a courtship than a couple who has only just met.