FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Confused about Americanism
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have a few questions about the Americanism heresy.

I carefully read the encyclical Testum Benevolentiae Nostra that talks about Americanism and need some clarification. I am not an expert in church documents.

http://www.fisheaters.com/testembenevole...ostra.html

I read from the encyclical about the dangers about license with liberty, rejecting the supernatural virtues (faith, hope, love), dropping contemplation and mortification, undermining monastic life, and "democratizing" the church.

"These dangers, viz., the confounding of license with liberty, the passion for discussing and pouring contempt upon any possible subject, the assumed right to hold whatever opinions one pleases upon any subject and to set them forth in print to the world, have so wrapped minds in darkness that there is now a greater need of the Church's teaching office than ever before, lest people become unmindful both of conscience and of duty."

"This over-esteem of natural virtue finds a method of expression in assuming to divide all virtues in active and passive, and it is alleged that whereas passive virtues found better place in past times, our age is to be characterized by the active."

"[a] contempt of the religious life which has in some degree taken hold of minds. That such a value is generally held by the upholders of new views, we infer from certain statements concerning the vows which religious orders take. They say vows are alien to the spirit of our times, in that they limit the bounds of human liberty"

Dose this mean that I should not get involved in american politics like donating contributions, supporting bills (i.e. pro life bills), petitions, and calling or writing members in the government?