FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Following the Rule of St. Benedict as a layman?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm no expert on Benedictine spirituality, but I believe I am called to be a Benedictine Monk, but as a convert, I still must wait two years before I can begin the process of becoming a monk, but nevertheless, I would like to live as Benedictine as possible, is there any good commentaries or advice for living Benedictine as a layman. I know there's Benedictine Oblate's.  I guess I can try to live like one for now. God bless
Commentary for Benedictine Oblates, by G. A. Simon, is the only traditional commentary that I know.  I have it and I've used it.  I don't like it very much.  I find it Jansenistic.  I was shocked to find no discussion whatsoever on that part of the Rule which is one of the Benedictine mottoes, "That in all things God may be glorified."

I am not a Benedictine oblate, but I have adopted a Benedictine spirituality.
Steve, Sister Terese here in the tank is a Benedictine. I'd pm her for advice. Then as a layman I'd say get a Monastic Diurnal, and the Regula of S. Benedict. For starters  http://divinumofficium.com/cgi-bin/horas/officium.pl  has the pre-Trent Monastic Office. It does not have the current Kalendar as it is an attempt to show the Benedictine Office from the time of St. Benedict.

The Monastic Diurnal comes Latin/English, as is the Divinum Officium website. This is the first step prayer and work. I'd suggest Latin, and since you have two years a few courses at the local jr. college would be very good. It's possible to dive into the Diurnal without much Latin and learn from rote. This means you'll pray aloud as is required, be careful with the Pater Noster, which is aloud and which isn't, and learn to pronounce the Latin, while keeping both eyes on the Latin and the English.