FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Studying Islam
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Towards the end of this summer, I started studying Islam in greater depth, to understand more of the faith as Muslims see it. I've been reading the Qur'an with traditional commentaries (but reading the suras in chronological order), as well as a few academic books on the early history of Islam to give me some much needed historical context.

My main intention is to understand the Qur'an and Islam as a lived religion, as Muslims themselves perceive it. Islam is of course very varied, and though I try to understand how the main schools approach the Qur'an and Islamic law, my emphasis is, at the moment, particularly on Sufi readings, partly because I interact most with Sufi Muslims (through work and through the community in which I live), but also because I find it the most beautiful form of Islam.

I'm slowly nearing the end of the Qur'an, and am beginning to look at what to read next. If you have any recommendations for further reading, please let me know. Though I am primarily looking for classical works of Islam (Sufi or otherwise), preferably in the realm of theology, I am open to other suggestions as well. I do not care much for overly polemical critiques of Islam (of which I can find enough online), but if you know of a good book that critiques Islam fairly and dispassionately, please feel free to suggest it. Also, if you know of any good works of comparative theology (comparing Christianity & Islam), please let me know.
Maybe you should read a copy of the Hadith.
(09-20-2014, 08:18 AM)ThomasTheDoubter Wrote: [ -> ]Maybe you should read a copy of the Hadith.