FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Translating the Bible into 'exotic' languages
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been a translation studies student for some time now. During a few courses I encountered several examples of particularly dynamic translations connected with rendering the Bible in languages of a people with everyday life very much different from ours. That is to say, I'm not meaning the Japanese or the Chinese but rather Eskimos for instance. Apparently in some Bible translations (or the attempts to prepare such) 'Lamb of God' was translated as 'Seal of God' (like the animal, not the stamp) - as you won't find any sheep in the far North, and Jesus' being the Bread of Life - as 'Fish of Life'. Because bread - and more generally wheat or other types of grain - is again something uknown there.

What do you think?
Okay? Not okay? How to do this otherwise?
Do Eskimos sacrifice Seals to God?
But anyway, that's not OK. Revelation was a historical event, there's no way to avoid that, and as a historical event (though much exceeding the event) it assumes these contingencies.
One might as well ask, will the Eskimos consecrate fish and turn fish into the Body of our Lord? No, one needs wheat. And one need grapes for the blood of Christ.
I think it would be more profitable to just explain how bread was a staple food in Israel, etc. That's what we have: many things are lost on us if we didn't have some commentary explaining the images and customs.