FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Question about reception of Communion at Novus Ordo
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I want to preface by saying that once I studied traditional Catholicism, I began receiving Communion on my tongue, either standing or kneeling. Lately, I've been kneeling at the Novus Ordo in order to receive. My priest knows I've been kneeling, so he's careful to place the Host on my tongue. I'm a short person and we have no Communion rail, so it's a bit of a stretch. Today, however, he was on the other side of the church, and an EMHC was distributing in my aisle. I felt the Host fumble a bit around my lips and now I'm concerned...should I stand in the Novus Ordo while receiving on the tongue? Should I receive while kneeling as long as my priest is in my aisle? What do you think I should do? I didn't think my mouth wasn't open enough because I don't really think about it...this hasn't happened before. I just don't want to risk Our Lord being dropped.
Receiving from an EMHC is sketchy at best.  Those folks rarely know how to handle someone receiving on the tongue.  I would stand to avoid Our Lord on the floor - especially since there's no paten.
(05-21-2016, 08:36 PM)Fontevrault Wrote: [ -> ]Receiving from an EMHC is sketchy at best.  Those folks rarely know how to handle someone receiving on the tongue.  I would stand to avoid Our Lord on the floor - especially since there's no paten.

Thank you for the feedback, Fonte. I think that's a good idea.
Smile  It is most certainly a difficult circumstance.  I always try to manipulate myself into the priest's line at the NO mass near us.  I figure it's just easier for all concerned.  I only go very rarely though.