FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Praying in front of Orthodox Christian elements...?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
✟PAX DOMINUS VOBISCUM...! ✟

Is it OK to pray in front of Orthodox Crucifixes and icons of the "Mary, the Mother of God" in or outside Orthodox churches if you happen to pass by them while travelling or during pilgrimages or tours...? 

Also, is it OK to make use of Byzantine Christian Icons in Catholic worship...?

Thanks in advance... :)
I'm no expert, but I'd say yes to all of those question. There's a small orthodox icon of Our Lord as the Good Shepherd behind me, in the bedroom right now, that I used for that purpose at work for several years.
My Roman parish just put up a Byzantine Icon of Our Lady of Perpetual Help in our adderation chapel. I have two Byzantine Icons blessed by a Byzantine Priest on my home alter. My Parish Priest says it's good to use Byzantine Icons and to explore the Eastern Catholic Church.
I am a Cradle Roman Catholic, but I love the Eastern Rites.
(02-07-2018, 03:47 AM)AndreasIosephus Wrote: [ -> ]✟PAX DOMINUS VOBISCUM...! ✟

Is it OK to pray in front of Orthodox Crucifixes and icons of the "Mary, the Mother of God" in or outside Orthodox churches if you happen to pass by them while travelling or during pilgrimages or tours...? 

Of course.  We need to stop this nonsense of thinking of the Orthodox as being outside of the Church.  They always have been and always will be part of the Church. The fact that the Church is divided East/West, Orthodox/Catholic does not mean one is right the other wrong.  The Church was not meant to be divorced but because of our hardness we have to live with the consequences of this (what God has joined let no man tear asunder).  Remember, the Church is universal, not just Roman.
(02-07-2018, 02:47 PM)meadjodha Wrote: [ -> ]