FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Starting a TLM
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have the priest on board with the Latin Mass. He actually approached me. Any way he is actually fluent in Latin. He said he will be going to training in the fall. What should I do in the mean time? 

I looked at the page on the main site about starting a TLM and download the information. 

Keep in mind this is a very small parish. It's in a town of about 2,500 people.

I guess I need to find and train alterboys.
What about Chant? To tell you the truth there isn't much of a choir. I'm new to the parish, the last thing I want to do is step on anyone's toes. I don't even know if they have a music director.

I'm excited and a little apprehensive.
Great!
Of course, actually getting things in order, making sure you have everything you need in good order, and such is your first priority.
But everyone needs to be trained, including the altar boys.  All of the people "working the Mass" should be well informed and well rehearsed - it gives off a confidence to the newcomers.  As many parishioners as possible  should also be well informed so they know what to do and when so they can lead by example.  Maybe they should volunteer to sit up front or on the ends of he pews for awhile so the rest of us can follow. Make brochures available that explain the differences between the NO and the TLM but don't insult the NO in any way (don't alienate your potential "customer").