FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: "New" to Tradition and have some questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been battling with myself for about 5 years and finally this past September, after coming home from a three week vacation in Italy and reading the Vigano letter, I decided it was time to try the TLM. I recently found a new, to me, parish that was a 35 minute drive that is run by the FSSP. What a wonderful decision that has been! I can't begin to describe the jubilation I feel inside. My wife, however, is still not convinced.

I found this site a long time ago, but I can't remember my login or email address I used so I had to create a new profile. So with that in mind, I have some questions I was hoping I could get answered by you fine fisheaters:

1. I noticed at two FSSP run churches (I found a second one an hour from me) there is a grown man serving on the alter with the priest at the low mass. What is that about? I thought only a boy could serve.

2. After the priest exits the church everyone kneels down and prays. Some for a long time. What am I supposed to be doing at that time? I tend to just say a couple personal prayers and exit. But if there is a traditional set of prayers to say, I would love to know them.

3. I noticed that a lot of the people were using a 1962 Roman Catholic Daily Missal, so I bought one. I have a method that works for now but is there a standard way you are supposed to use the multi-colored tassels?

4. How am I to know what are my "duties and obligations" for my state of life? I am married with two kids, a boy (5yo) and a girl (2yo).