FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Whispering in the Adoration Chapel
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have spurts where I go to the local adoration chapel and pray the rosary.  I really try to visual each of the 5 parts of the mystery I'm praying while still not making the Lord's Prayers or the Hail Marys too automatic and empty.  I'm not very good at it.

During the last couple of days there has been someone who whispers their prayers in the chapel while I'm praying.  On each occasion it's been an older lady, not the same one on both days, who's really focused and praying hard in a whispery voice.  I don't say anything because I want to let them do their thing, and I'd be a jerk to interrupt their prayers.

I can't focus on my prayers when they're whispering, for some reason it really gets under my skin.  But instead of complaining or asking them to stop, I'm going to try and turn it into an exercise of tolerance and try to focus more on my praying. 

Saying that, if you're a whisperer while you pray in the adoration chapel, please stop and use that voice in your head instead.
I get what you mean. I haven't been able to go to adoration for a while, but audible whispers among other things can be distracting for me. Admittedly, I have the habit of whispering prayers too, but I've been working on it.
My issue is that I always have to fight with the mindset that my prayers don't count unless I vocalize them. Which I know is wrong and silly.
(06-15-2019, 06:55 PM)jack89 Wrote: [ -> ]I have spurts where I go to the local adoration chapel and pray the rosary.  I really try to visual each of the 5 parts of the mystery I'm praying while still not making the Lord's Prayers or the Hail Marys too automatic and empty.  I'm not very good at it.