FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums

Full Version: Legitimate info on smoking health risks
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I’m somewhat new to tobacco. I have far more experience with vape. I’m looking for some legitimate unbiased info on the health side-effects of light tobacco use.
I can easily tell that the majority of info available online regarding the health risks of light tobacco use are extremely biased towards either direction, without much middle ground info available. My intro to nicotine was through vaping when I was 18 (currently 21). I very much enjoy a nicotine buzz but have never found myself prone to physical dependency. I quit vaping because I noticed the ease of accessibility was way to high. I could vape constantly during waking hours due to the more pleasant smell (to those around me, I enjoy the smell of tobacco) and the discreet forms it comes in. It didn’t take long for me to realize that could easily lead to a horrible addiction, it was just too easy to consume.
That being said, I still enjoy a nicotine buzz while hanging with friends or on a Friday evening after a long week at work (especially paired with a few fingers of bourbon). And I have started to experiment with the occasional cigarette or cigar to implement that. But I’m looking for some solid information as to the side effects light tobacco use can have. A lot of mainstream media will say that one or two cigarettes a week has nearly the same effect as a heavy consumer. This doesn’t seem logical. But then there are the extreme enthusiasts who will say that tobacco has nearly no negative effects, which is also obviously not true.
What is the truth here? I smoke between 1-3 cigarettes a week, and 1 cigar a month (usually I’m sharing the cigars with friends). Are there legitimate health risks I should be worried about?