FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums
Liturgical music - Printable Version

+- FishEaters Traditional Catholic Forums (https://www.fisheaters.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Church (https://www.fisheaters.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Forum: Catholicism (https://www.fisheaters.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Liturgical music (/showthread.php?tid=82004)

Liturgical music - BobR67 - 05-03-2018

Is there a book or some kind of list of what music is to be used in diffrent liturgical seasons? This would be for a TLM. 
The parish doesn't have a music director and has a hodge podge choir. We are looking to start a TLM. I have some what of a music background, but this is a bit out of my league. 
I am new to this parish and Fr. asked me to get the TLM preperations off the ground. It will be a year before he plans for the TLM to be celebrated.

RE: Liturgical music - angeltime - 05-03-2018

(05-03-2018, 09:08 PM)BobR67 Wrote: Is there a book or some kind of list of what music is to be used in diffrent liturgical seasons? This would be for a TLM. 
The parish doesn't have a music director and has a hodge podge choir. We are looking to start a TLM. I have some what of a music background, but this is a bit out of my league. 
I am new to this parish and Fr. asked me to get the TLM preperations off the ground. It will be a year before he plans for the TLM to be celebrated.
Peace.....Adoremus hymn book might be helpful and latinmass.com might provide some helpful instructions.

God bless, angeltime Heart 

Latin Mass

RE: Liturgical music - jovan66102 - 05-03-2018

Contact the FSSP &/or SSPX.

RE: Liturgical music - MagisterMusicae - 05-04-2018

The Church Music Association of America is a good resource.

My recommendation, unless you will only be having Low Masses, don't bother with learning hymns. Learn the Gregorian Chant well and get people to sing it.