Smoking cessation.
Has anyone else successfully quit smoking? I'd be interested to know what has been helpful. I've been smoking 10-15 cigarettes a day for almost 10 years now and would like to quit. I'm getting to the age where I have to start taking my health more seriously. There's a lot of cancer in my family, and I have high cholesterol as it is. But what has really got me lately is that I have put on some extra "baggage", and I have been trying to exercise more regularly, mostly biking, and I find that my lung power is gone before the rest of my body is ready to quit. It's frustrating to just get to the point where I really feel that I'm doing really well and have to stop because I'm winded.

I've tried going cold turkey before, but old habits die hard. I really can't tell how much of this is a physical addiction to nicotine or how much is the powerful psychological association with relaxation. I'm going to schedule an appointment with the doctor this week or next. Anyone have any success with patches, gum, etc?
I'm a smoker myself, but I don't want to quit right now. I did quit once a few years back, and I used the patch. I will never, ever use the patch again. The patch literally made me afraid to go to sleep. One of it's known side-effects is that it can cause you to have horrible and bizarre dreams, which makes for a very restless night. The other thing it did was burn the heck out of my skin. I haven't tried the gum, though.
That's definitely good to know - I have sleeping difficulties, too, and find that I am very sensitive to medication-induced nightmares. Nothing's worse than actually going to sleep at a decent hour only to be startled awake in a cold-sweat fright four hours later!
I stopped smoking through Our Lady's intercession and the Rosary. No withdrawals at all.