Losing weight on Atkins
OK, I turn 40 next year and figure if I don't lose my excess baggage now my health is going to deteriorate rapidly as I get even older.

So, I'm planning to start Atkins sometime after Thanksgiving.  I looked into a bunch of different diets, and Atkins is the one that makes the most sense to me.

Anyone have any personal anecdotes about Atkins?  Any tips or hints?  Any good or bad things to say?

Atkins was a fad and dangerous, I wouldn't recommend it. (I am a certified personal trainer).

What I suggest is this:

* Cut out all refined sugar and flour. If it says "enriched flour", "high fructose corn syrup", or others, don't eat it (especially, don't eat it alone).

* Cut out all processed "meats". If you can't tell what it is, don't eat it. I'm a vegan, but even the most staunch meat eater should not touch hot dogs, etc. Get good cuts of meat.

* Eat vegetables with every meal. Preferable fresh, but frozen and canned (with no sugar, syrup, and try to get no salt added) are good as well. Eat them first, and then cooked vegetables, then to meat, and bread and pastries last if at all. Fruit is also good (although, this time of year, hard to get).

If you do do the atkins diet, do not count vegetables and fruit at all in your "carb" purge. A quick look at Atkins himself should tell you it is not an ideal diet. I use the advice of Norman Walker (vegan, raw foodist) and Ori Hofmekler (Warrior Diet).

I recommend the books http://www.amazon.com/Warrior-Diet-Ori-H...0938045350 and http://www.amazon.com/Diet-Salad-N-W-Walker/dp/0890190348/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1227648781&sr=1-4

Live active, be happy. Don't join the Atkins masochist brigade.