Can't Fry an Egg
I make my own bread, pie crust, croutons, mayonnaise and salad dressings. I make homemade desserts every week. I whip my own cream. I'm looking into the possibilities of making my own mozarrella and growing my own wheat ... but I can't make a fried egg.

I can scramble them, poach them in cream, make omelets and souffles and meringues, but when I try to do a simple easy-over for my daughter's breakfast, it's an ugly mess -- looks as though a little chicken died in my frying pan. How do I master this culinary art?
I'm an awful cook, but this I can manage. While this isn't the best recipe in the world, it's healthier than most.  I use cooking spray in a medium hot, small frying pan. Wait until the white has set to flip with a flexible spatula. If you do it any earlier it makes a mess. It only needs a moment or two more to make over-medium, and another few for over-hard.
That's pretty much what I do too, except I use low heat (on my gas stove).  I find even medium heat will mess it up.  Though that will be different from stove to stove.
Oh, yes, sorry! Medium heat on an electric stove with a cast aluminum pan is what I use. Gas will be a little lower heat and so will darker pans.

I've never made a fried egg unless I've fried bacon first so I've always done them with bacon fat. What seems to help is using my spatula to pick up some of the grease I'm frying in and "pouring" it over the yolk while it's frying on the first side ('course b/c it's a spatula it's somewhere between pouring and drizzling). It's something my mom taught me so the yolk cooks a little quicker and makes flipping easier.
Coupla things....one, don't use cooking spray.  Those sprays contain propellant as well as the cooking oil, and the propellants get gummy when heated, even on non-stick cookware.  Stick with vegetable or olive oil...not canola, it burns at too low a temp.

Two, a good non-stick pan.