Communion in a Plastic Cup
Did you guys see this?

http://eponymousflower.blogspot.com/2013...iving.html

How is this defensible?  Or is this more "oh you mad rad trads!"

Very depressing. 
"World Youth Day 2013 in Rio de Janeiro showed a lack of sacramental understanding of the Eucharist, visible in a new "modern" form of Holy Eucharist. The consecrated Hosts were held in plastic cups. These containers went from hand to hand, were passed out by priests, laity, women and men, and give to the faithful, being passed over their heads."

If this passage and the accompanying picture is true, then a cup filled with hosts passed from person to person like this appears to be a form of self-communication. I'm not a liturgical expert, but it looks "fishy" to me---pun intended. I read somewhere that self-communication is a liturgical abuse which might invalidate the communion. Again, I'm no expert but this is something that I would avoid as a prudent person not fully educated in canon law but suspects something is wrong. Which is what (late) Fr. Hesse, who was a canon lawyer, told us to do, if there is doubt.
Do we have any idea how many bishops, priests, and deacons were at WYD who could have served as ordinary ministers for Holy Communion? 
(08-07-2013, 10:47 AM)lauermar Wrote: "World Youth Day 2013 in Rio de Janeiro showed a lack of sacramental understanding of the Eucharist, visible in a new "modern" form of Holy Eucharist. The consecrated Hosts were held in plastic cups. These containers went from hand to hand, were passed out by priests, laity, women and men, and give to the faithful, being passed over their heads."