Questions about evangelizing
There is a male acquaintance I know who is not too much older than me. He recently told me (quite randomly) that he was divorced a few years ago, has a young teenage daughter he no longer sees, and that despite all the counseling he and his ex-wife received they still went through the divorce. He is not a Catholic, not even a Christian. Judging by the story he told me, it's highly possible he didn't grow in a household environment where Christianity (or any religion) had a presence. While he is a very charismatic and lively individual, I sensed some masked, deep pain when he told me this.

I am wondering, how do we go about sharing  with divorced individuals the Catholic faith? Or just sharing Jesus first in general? While this is an acquaintance of mine I am wondering if some people on this forum have befriended individuals who have gone through a divorce (or divorces); I have no experience with the vocation of marriage or divorce. I suppose my experience is different because I didn't know this person was previously married.

I will continue to pray for him but I really think someone needs to share with him the love of Jesus and I'm not quite sure how to do that. ??? I'm not very good at evangelizing and I realize the Holy Spirit plays a huge part in conversion, but I'm wondering how I could plant some seeds.
The fact that he is divorced doesn't prevent him from entering the Church.
(11-06-2014, 12:26 AM)Poche Wrote: The fact that he is divorced doesn't prevent him from entering the Church.

Obviously, but unless you already "buy in" to Catholic doctrine, your impression is that you can only be a "second class" or "partial" Catholic. If you remarry, you can't receive Communion, so you might ask what's the point of joining a religion if you can't partake in its most sacred ritual? That requires a convincing answer.