Sedevacantism
I am brand new to the thread and I hope  this is an OK question to ask. I go to Mount Saint Michaels church in Spokane Washington. I was just wondering what people on this forum think about  the sedevacantist position? I’m  not trying to start an argument I’m just curious. I just wondered how people could think that Francis is a true pope with the things that he is done. Please give me your opinions thank you!
(11-11-2019, 01:25 AM)Tradinight Wrote: I am brand new to the thread and I hope  this is an OK question to ask. I go to Mount Saint Michaels church in Spokane Washington. I was just wondering what people on this forum think about  the sedevacantist position? I’m  not trying to start an argument I’m just curious. I just wondered how people could think that Francis is a true pope with the things that he is done. Please give me your opinions thank you!

This forum is one that accepts in principle that Francis is the Pope, and it's part of the rules here that posts here have this underlying assumption, so the official "policy" of the forum is not sedevacantist.

Perhaps some here hold that view.

Since the consensus of all traditional theologians is that the man who is universally and peacefully recognized as the Pope must infallibly be the Pope, and since we cannot judge the crime of heresy or apostasy, lacking authority to do so, the only logical position is to hold that Francis is Pope.

If Cajetan or St Robert Bellarmine are correct, if Francis has committed the crime of heresy, then the Church Herself, through some imperfect Council or similar group could declared the crime of heresy or apostasy, and Christ would depose this person, or the Church would declare Francis as someone to be avoided, and thus effectively there would be a universal schism from him, making his headship of the Church impossible, and thus Christ would depose him.

Since that's not happened, unfortunately, he's the Pope.