Fish Eaters: The Whys and Hows of Traditional Catholicism

Ecclesiastes 3:1 "All things have their season, and in their times all things pass under heaven"

Seasonal Customs

Angels from Giotto's Lamentation

Below are links to pages that describe customs, traditions, devotions, legends, and lore related to the traditional Catholic liturgical year per the 1962 Missal and calendar used by most traditional priestly fraternities. All Biblical references are to the Douay-Rheims with the Septuagint's Psalm numbering. The dates given are for the 2011-2012 liturgical year (dates in italics are movable).

Skip to:
Time After Epiphany
Time after Pentecost

2  0  1  1


Novena to the Immaculate Conception 29 November - 7 December

Christmas Novena I 30 November - 24 December

December: dedicated to the Immaculate Conception

Advent Overview

Advent Wreath & Candles Sundays of Advent: 27 November, 4 December, 11 December, 18 December

Nativity Scenes 1st Sunday of Advent - 6 January or 2 February

Advent Calendars 1-24 December

Jesse Trees 1-24 December

Feast of St. Barbara 4 December

Feast of St. Nicholas 6 December

Feast of the Immaculate Conception 8 December

Feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe 12 December

Feast of St. Lucy 13 December

Advent Embertide Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday after
13 December (St. Lucy's Day): 14, 16, 17 December

Christmas Novena II & Las Posadas 16-24 December

The Golden Nights: O Antiphons 17-23 December


Christmastide Overview

Christmas Eve and Christmas Day 24-25 December

Feast of St. Stephen the Deacon 26 December

Feast of St. John the Evangelist 27 December

Feast of the Holy Innocents (Childermas) 28 December

Feast of St. Thomas Becket 29 December

Feast of St. Sylvester 31 December

2  0  1  2


January: dedicated to the Holy Name and Childhood of Jesus

Feast of the Circumcision 1 January

Feast of the Holy Name 2 January (1st Sunday of the year, or 2 January if this Sunday falls on the 1st, 6th, or 7th)

Twelfth Night 5 January

Feast of the Epiphany 6 January

Feast of the Holy Family 8 January (1st Sunday after the Epiphany)

The Baptism of Our Lord Jesus Christ 13 January

Time After Epiphany

Time After Epiphany Overview

St. Agnes Eve & St. Agnes Day 20 & 21 January

February: dedicated to the Holy Family

Feast of St. Brigid of Ireland 1 February

Feast of the Purification (Candlemas) 2 February

Feast of St. Blaise 3 February


Septuagesima Overview

Septuagesima Sunday and its Vigil 4-5 February

St. Valentine's Day 14 February      

Shrovetide 20-21 February


Lent Overview

Ash Wednesday 22 February

Lenten Embertide Wednesday, Friday and Saturday after the 1st Sunday of Lent: 29 February, 2, 3 March

March: dedicated to St. Joseph

Feast of St. Patrick 17 March

4th Sunday of Lent (Laetare Sunday) 18 March

Feast of St. Joseph 19 March

Feast of the Annunciation (Lady Day) 25 March

Passiontide & Passion Week begin: Vespers of Passion Sunday, and Passion Sunday 25 March

Feast of the Seven Sorrows of Mary 30 March (the Friday of Passion Week)

April: dedicated to the Blessed Sacrament

Holy Week begins: Palm Sunday 1 April

Spy Wednesday 4 April

The Sacred Triduum begins: Maundy Thursday 5 April

Good Friday 6 April

Holy Saturday 7 April


Eastertide Overview

Easter Sunday 8 April

Low Sunday 15 April

Major Rogation 25 April

Walpurgisnacht 30 April

May: dedicated to Mary

May Crowning Early May

Minor Rogation 14, 15, 16 May (the 3 days before the Ascension)

Ascension Thursday 17 May (40 days after Easter)

Novena to the Holy Ghost in anticipation of Whitsunday 18 May (10 days before Pentecost)

Vigil of the Pentecost & Pentecost (Whitsunday) 26 & 27 May (50 days after Easter)

Whit Embertide Wednesday, Friday and Saturday after Pentecost: 30 May, 1, & 2 June

Queenship of Mary 31 May

Time After Pentecost

June: dedicated to the Sacred Heart

Time After Pentecost Overview

Trinity Sunday 3 June (the Sunday after Pentecost)

Feast of Corpus Christi 7 June (The Thursday after Trinity Sunday)

Feast of St. Anthony of Padua 13 June

Feast of the Sacred Heart 15 June (the Friday a week after Corpus Christi)

St. John's Eve & St. John's Day 23 & 24 June

July: dedicated to the Precious Blood

Peter's Pence Collection 1 July (the Sunday nearest to 29 June, the the Feast of SS. Peter and Paul)

Feast of the Visitation 2 July

Feast of St. Mary Magdalen 22 July

Feast of St. James the Greater 25 July

Feast of St. Martha 29 July

August: dedicated to the Immaculate Heart

Feast of the Transfiguration 6 August

Feast of St. Lawrence 10 August

Feast of the Assumption (Marymass) 15 August

Feast of King Saint Louis IX 25 August

September: dedicated to the Seven Dolors of Mary

Feast of the Nativity of Mary 8 September

Exaltation of the Holy Cross (Roodmas) 14 September

Michaelmas Embertide Wednesday, Friday and Saturday after the third Sunday in September: 19, 21, 22 September

Feast of Saint Januarius (San Gennaro) 19 September

Feast of St. Michael the Archangel (Michaelmas) 29 September

October: dedicated to the Holy Rosary

Feast of St. Francis of Assisi 4 October

All Souls Novena 24 October - 1 November

Feast of Christ the King 28 October (Last Sunday of October)

All Hallows' Eve (Hallowe'en) 31 October

November: dedicated to the Poor Souls

All Saints' Day (Hallowmas) 1 November

All Souls Day 2 November

Feast of St. Martin (Martinmas) 11 November

Last Sunday of Pentecost 25 November

St. Catherine's Day 25 November


2012 Advent Dates:
2 December: First Sunday of Advent 2012
9 December: Second Sunday of Advent 
16 December: Third Sunday of Advent, 2012
23 December: Fourth Sunday of Advent, 2012
Tuesday, 25 December: Christmas 2012

For a list of Catholic movies that would be good to watch
throughout the liturgical year, see the Catholic Movies page of this site.


Back to Being Catholic